Werbung
LEO

Sie scheinen einen AdBlocker zu verwenden.

Wollen Sie LEO unterstützen?

Dann deaktivieren Sie AdBlock für LEO, spenden Sie oder nutzen Sie LEO Pur!

•  
  • Betrifft

Fahrenheit or Celsius

Kommentar
    Is it true that Americans always use Fahrenheit when talking about the temperature? And what about the other natives not living in Europe?
    VerfasserMini cooper06 Jun. 06, 21:04
    Kommentar
    First question: Yes. They tend to believe that the metric system is something for rocket scientists. One exception is the CNN who has gone metric from the beginning, I suppose.

Second question: What "other natives" do you have in mind?
    #1VerfasserAndreasS06 Jun. 06, 21:14
    Kommentar
    Always? No. Often? Yes.
    #2Verfassergirly-girl<us>06 Jun. 06, 21:19
    Kommentar
    @AndreaS - Darn it. Did I out myself as a rocket scientist again? I almost never wear my shirt "Actually, I am a rocket scientist", and yet over and over people recognize me as one ...
    #3Verfassergirly-girl06 Jun. 06, 21:20
    Kommentar
    Excerpt from Wikipedia article below:

In Jamaica and the United States, where metrication has encountered resistance from industry and consumers, the Fahrenheit system continues to be very widely used. In the United Kingdom Celsius has been widely adopted, although Fahrenheit is still rarely used by older generations (50 years old and over) for measurement of higher temperatures, lower temperatures are measured in degrees Celsius. The majority of the population in the UK and in most other countries have adopted Celsius as the primary scale in use.

Interestingly it was proposed by a German Scientist, Gabriel Fahrenheit, but the Germans have abandoned it.

Here is a Wikipedia link:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fahrenheit

interesting excerpt: